Chalk Up Another One For Darrell Lanigan


Lanigan swept the night at the high-banked, quarter-mile oval, setting fast time in Ohlins Shocks Time Trials and winning a heat race prior to grabbing his 47th career WoO LMS A-Main victory. His perfect performance marked his second win in three starts behind the wheel of the new Rocket car he debuted at the start of the tour’s current Northeast swing.

The winningest driver in WoO LMS history pulled off his latest conquest without having to deal with McCreadie, who appeared primed to grab his fourth WoO LMS win of the season after he bolted into the lead from the outside pole at the start of the race. Lanigan didn’t rule out the possibility, however, that he could have challenged McCreadie if the 39-year-old hadn’t met a miserable fate on lap 28.

“I think we were running him down a little because I could see him coming to me,” said Lanigan, who started fourth. “Now whether he had problems then, I don’t know. He might have been having rearend problems then.

“Even if we got there (to McCreadie), it was gonna be hard to pass him. But our car was good, and I’d liked to have raced with him.”

Smith kept Lanigan honest following McCreadie’s departure, but Lanigan never felt any serious pressure.

“I knew Clint was back there, but I knew I had a little bit of a lead there at the end,” said Lanigan. “As long as I ran my own race I was gonna be fine.”

Smith, who started fifth, was a very satisfied runner-up. It was by far his best run of the 2013 WoO LMS campaign; in the 20 events prior to Cornwall, he hadn’t recorded a single top-five finish.

“I’ll be honest with you – the way we’ve been running, it’s like a win,” said Smith, who gained control of second place on lap 31 when his good buddy, Tim Fuller slipped over the outside berm between turns one and two while challenging Lanigan and tumbled out of the top five. “I’m trying to stay on tour (with the WoO LMS), and a $5,000 night is a big step for me. That’s like a sponsorship compared to the $1,200 I’ve been getting (for finishing deep in the field). That’s like running five races in a row in one night. It definitely makes a big difference in where we’re going.”

The finish:

Darrell Lanigan, Clint Smith, Bub McCool, Billy Decker, Shane Clanton, Morgan Bagley, Chub Frank, Rick Eckert, Tim Fuller, Josh Richards, Greg Oakes, Eric Wells, Dan Stone, Larry Wight, John Mason, Lee Ladouceur, Greg Belyea, Philip Potts, Adam Turner, Kyle Sopaz, Tim McCreadie, Charlie Sandercock, Jason McCrory, Gil Tegg Jr.