Bloomquist Gets Sixth Eldora Dream!


Bloomquist had to deal with double-file restarts on lap 91 and 98, but the slowdowns did little more than prolong the race.

“You hate to see those cautions at the end like that, but the car felt so good,” said Bloomquist, emerged triumph one year after finishing a career-worst 21st in the Dream. “The car just took off (on the restarts). I could run any line around this racetrack.”

Erb, 40, was satisfied with earning a $20,000 runner-up check behind the wheel of his Team Zero by Bloomquist car. It was his career-best finish in four Dream A-Main starts, topping his fifth-place run in 2012.

“We just kept plugging away and we got up there to the front,” said Erb, who dueled for second with Richards for the final 10 laps. “We couldn’t stay with Scott but we’ll take second.”

Mars, who led laps 23-64, was still in second on lap 91 but got shuffled back to sixth in the official order of finish.

Eighty-four cars entered the Dream XIX by Ferris, which featured an expanded three-day format that for the first time included complete racing programs with twin 25-lap features on Thursday and Friday. Saturday night’s heat-race lineups were determined using each driver’s best time-trial lap from qualifying on Thursday and Friday nights.

Davenport earned $1,000 for registering the fastest overall lap of the weekend with his 15.386-second clocking on Friday night. He beat the Thursday-night circuit turned in by defending Dream champion Shane Clanton by a mere .001 of a second.

Winners of Saturday’s six 15-lap heat races were Bloomquist, Chamberlain, Eddie Carrier Jr., Mars, Fuller and Reddick. Owens won the 20-lap B-Main and Brian Shirley topped the 15-lap C-Main.

A pair of five-lap ‘Scrambles’ for drivers failing to earn transfer positions in the B- and C-Mains were also contested. With each sprint offering a $1,000 top prize and full DIRTcar UMP points, Donnie Moran captured the ‘B-Scramble’ and R.J. Conley won the ‘C-Scramble.’

Former Dream winners Darrell Lanigan and Don O’Neal saw their evenings end early due to heat-race accidents.

Lanigan spun into the turn-four wall while attempting to pass Mars for the lead on the opening lap of the fourth heat and was hit hard by Frankie Heckenast. Richards was also involved, but he was able to continue racing despite the significant right-side damage his car sustained.

O’Neal, meanwhile, limped into the pit area on lap eight of the fifth heat after slapping the wall between turns one and two. His MasterSbilt house car had its right-side bodywork ripped away.

A red flag was needed shortly after O’Neal’s crash so safety crews could tend to Jacob Hawkins, who needed medical attention after driving his St. Henry Nite Club car to his team’s trailer in the pit area. Hawkins was reportedly struck in his helmet by an object while racing and was transported to a local hospital for treatment of possible facial injuries.


The finish:

1. (6) Scott Bloomquist100 $100,000

2. (17) Dennis Erb Jr./100 $20,000

3. (10) Brian Birkhofer/100 $10,000

4. (11) Dale McDowell/100 $6,000

5. (21) Jimmy Owens/100 $5,000

6. (3) Jimmy Mars/100 $4,000

7. (7) Chris Madden/100 $3,500

8. (15) Steve Francis/100 $3,000

9. (2) Tim Fuller/100 $2,500

10. (23) Terry Phillips/99 $2,475

11. (22) Tim McCreadie/99 $2,450

12. (4) Eddie Carrier Jr./99 $2,425

13. (27) Jon Henry/98 $2,400

14. (5) Duane Chamberlain/96 $2,375

15. (14) Matt Miller/91 $2,350

16. (9) Wayne Chinn78 $2,325

17. (8) Jared Landers/69 $2,300

18. (20) Shane Clanton/66 $2,275

19. (24) Shannon Babb/66 $2,250

20. (16) Mason Zeigler/35 $2,200

21. (26) John Blankenship/31 $2,175

22. (25) Chris Simpson/30 $2,150

23. (18) Steve Casebolt Jr./26 $2,125

24. (1) Tyler Reddick/22 $2,100

25. (12) Gregg Satterlee/17 $2,075

26. (13) Devin Moran/17 $2,050

27. (19) Jonathan Davenport/17 $2,025

28. (28) Josh Richards-DQ (light)